Rona Fairhead’s speech to the RTS
February 11, 2015
In conversation with Professor Jean Seaton
March 11, 2015

The new BBC Board, combining the roles of the BBC Trust and the Executive Board, has been announced by the BBC and comes into being.

The BBC appointees are:
Four Executive Directors:
• D-G, Tony Hall;
• Deputy D-G, Anne Bulford;
• Dir. Nations & Regions, Ken McQuarrie;
• Dir. Worldwide, Tim Davie.
Five BBC Non-executive Directors:
• Simon Burke, currently a member of the BBC Executive Board;
• Tanni Grey-Thompson, the cross-bench peer and paralympian;
• Ian Hargreaves, formerly BBC DNCA and founder member of Ofcom;
• Tom Ilube, a technology CEO and educational philanthropist;
• Nicholas Serota; Arts Council Chairman and on the BBC Executive Board.
The Queen in Council appoints four Directors for the Nations:
Nations Non-executive Directors; (two yet to be appointed):
• Steve Morrison, Member for Scotland;
• Dr. Ashley Steel, Member for England.
Chairman of the BBC, Sir David Clementi said:
‘I’m delighted to have been able to put together such a talented board with a broad range of skills and experience who will be able to ensure the BBC remains a first class broadcaster. The Board will push the BBC to offer the highest quality, hold its executives to account on delivery, while protecting its independence to ensure licence fee payers get the very best programmes and services.’

The full Press Release can be found at /


Comments are closed.